Welcome to the Tennessee Society of Anesthesiologists

TSA Board of Directors 

The Tennessee Society of Anesthesiologists are physicians who are dedicated to:

  • Promoting the highest standards of the profession of anesthesiology,
  • Implementing the highest medical standards for patient safety,
  • Fostering excellence through continuing medical education, and
  • Serving as an advocate for anesthesiologists and their patients.

In medical procedures, the role of the physician anesthesiologists is critical when seconds count.

Physician anesthesiologists’ training includes:

  • 4 years of college, including pre-med courses
  • 4 years of medical school
  • 4 years of anesthesia residency
    • Year One (CBY – Clinical Base Year) – The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)
      • The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) states that the Clinical Base Year should provide the resident with 12 months of broad education in medical disciplines relevant to the practice of Anesthesiology. Some examples of acceptable CBY programs are: a four year anesthesiology training program with a dedicated CBY year, a preliminary surgery year or a transitional year program.
    • Years Two through Four (CA1, CA2, and CA3) are obtained in an approved ACGME anesthesia residency training program.
  • 1 year fellowship in one of the following specialties (this is an optional)
    • Adult Cardiothoracic Anesthesiology
    • Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine
    • Clinical Informatics
    • Hospice and Palliative Medicine
    • Obstetric Anesthesiology
    • Pain Medicine
    • Pediatric Anesthesiology

Learn more about physician anesthesiologists.

Learn more about the benefits of membership in The Tennessee Society of Anesthesiologists.

Contact Us

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Mailing Address

Tennessee Society of Anesthesiologists
PO Box 71367
Knoxville, TN 37938

865-603-2936 P